G.B. Morgagni Prizes 2016 Winners

During the 13th International G.B. Morgagni Prizes Symposium, which took place in Padua on October 28 2016, the chairman of the Symposium, Professor Gaetano Crepaldi, presented the G.B. MORGAGNI prizes to the 2016 winners:

· Gold medal: J. Tuomilehto (Helsinki)

· Silver medal: L. Marcovecchio (Chieti)

· Silver medal: J. Wikström (Stockholm)

The G.B. Morgagni Prize was instituted in 1984 by a group of distinguished researchers working at the University of Padova Medical School (Italy).

Named after the great anatomist Giovanni Battista Morgagni (1682-1771), the prize was set up to promote research in the field of metabolism: One gold medal (20 000 euros) for an outstanding European scientist, and two Young Investigator Awards (silver medals, 8000 euros each) are awarded every 2 years.

An international panel of prominent experts in the field of metabolism examines and evaluates the candidates: qualifications, curriculum vitae, and scientific publications.

Servier, the leading independent French pharmaceutical group, has been the sole sponsor of the G.B. Morgagni Prize since 1997.