Morgagni Prizes 2012 Winners

In March 2012, an international panel of prominent experts evaluated the candidates (qualifications, curriculum vitae and scientific publications) for the 2012 G.B. MORGAGNI PRIZES.

The following candidates were chosen:

  • Gold medal: Markus STOFFEL (Germany)
  • Silver medal: Timothy FRAYLING (United Kingdom)
  • Silver medal: Roberto MALLONE (France)

Professor Gaetano Crepaldi will be presenting the 2012 G.B. Morgagni Prize winners during the next International Symposium on Metabolism in Padova, on October 19, 2012.

The G.B. Morgagni Prize was instituted in 1984 by a group of distinguished researchers working at the University of Padova Medical School (Italy).

Named after the great anatomist Giovanni Battista Morgagni (1682-1771), the prize was set up to promote research in the field of metabolism.

One gold medal (20 000 euros) for an outstanding European scientist, and two Young Investigator Awards (silver medals, 8 000 euros each) are awarded every two years for outstanding scientific achievements.

Servier, the leading independent French pharmaceutical group, is proud to support the G.B. Morgagni Prize since 1997.

Professor Gaetano Crepaldi
Founder and Chairman